Globe Soccer Awards 2020 – full list of winners as Cristiano Ronaldo seals player of the century gong

CRISTIANO RONALDO bagged the player of the century gong at the Globe Soccer Awards 2020.

But the Portuguese superstar was not the only one celebrating after the glitzy event in Dubai.

A whole host of prizes were dished out at the Burj Khalifa, the tallest building in the world, with coach of the century, team of the century and even agent of the century up for grabs.

And it was not just a look back at the last two decades, as the best of the best in 2020 were also rewarded – with Bayern Munich faring particularly well.

SunSport runs through all the winners in full.

Player of the year – Robert Lewandowski

Robert Lewandowski has been in scintillating form for Bayern Munich helping the Germans to a treble last season.

He had already been named Fifa's player of the year earlier this month after bagging 55 goals in all competitions in 2019-20.

He smashed home 15 goals in Europe as Bayern were crowned winners for the sixth time.

Some reports suggested Ronaldo had actually topped the public vote before deciding it was "unfair" and that Polish striker Lewandowski should win, although this was disputed by a spokesperson from the Dubai Globe Soccer Awards.

Club of the year – Bayern Munich

Winning the treble was enough for Bayern Munich to be named club of the year.

The German giants beat Paris Saint-Germain 1-0 in the Champions League final, topped the Bundesliga by 13 points and beat Bayer Leverkusen 4-2 in the Cup final.

Coach of the year – Hansi Flick

Hansi Flick made it a hat-trick for Bayern Munich on the night, scooping the boss of the year award.

Flick had controversially missed out on the Fifa gong with Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp named winner.

Spurs boss Jose Mourinho took particular issue with the decision and even Klopp himself expected Flick to win.

Player of the century – Cristiano Ronaldo

Juventus talisman Ronaldo, 35, beat GOAT rival Lionel Messi and Brazilian Ronaldinho to lay claim to being the best footballer since the turn of the Millennium.

The five-time Ballon d'Or winner has earned five Champions League titles and scored an incredible 654 goals in 864 games for Sporting Lisbon, Manchester United, Real Madrid and now Juve.

And he insisted he wants to play on for "many years" when accepting the prize.

Club of the century – Real Madrid

Ronaldo's old side Real Madrid were named club of the century after claiming five Champions League titles since 2001.

Los Blancos have won seven LaLiga titles in the same time and trumped Barcelona and Bayern Munich to land the gong.

Coach of the century – Pep Guardiola

Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola took home the coach of the century prize after glittering spells at Barcelona, Bayern Munich and at the Etihad.

He won three LaLiga titles and two Champions Leagues with the Blaugrana before scooping three Bundesliga titles with Bayern.

He has won two Premier League titles with City and steered the club to a domestic treble in his third season in charge.

Agent of the century – Jorge Mendes

Super agent Jorge Mendes was named rep of the century after looking after clients such as Cristiano Ronaldo, David De Gea and Diego Costa.

The Portuguese intermediary has a huge client pool and is a powerful man in the global game.

Player career award – Gerard Pique, Iker Casillas

Former El Clasico rivals Gerard Pique and Iker Casillas were honoured for their outsanding success over the years.

As international team-mates the pair lifted the 2008 and 2012 European Championships and the 2010 World Cup.

Source: Read Full Article